Quick Facts

Flag of Colombia

Here are some quick, basic facts about Colombia:

* Colombia is located in South America and is bordered by Panama, Venezuela, Brazil, Peru, and Ecuador.

*The official language of Colombia is Spanish.

*Bogotá (pronunciation here) is the capital of Colombia and is located approximately in the center of the country.

*Colombia is divided into five geographical regions: Caribbean, Pacific, Andean, Orinoco, and Amazon.

*The current president of Colombia is Juan Manuel Santos. He was inaugurated on 7 August 2010.

*The population of Colombia is approximately 46 million, with about 8 million located in the capital.

*The four largest cities in Colombia are Bogotá, Medellin, Cali, and Barranquilla.

*The climate in Colombia differs among the various regions, ranging from hot and humid to dry and cold.

*Colombia is a predominantly Christian/Catholic country.

*Colombia gained their independence from the Spanish on 20 July 1810, which they continue to celebrate as their Independence Day.


1 thought on “Quick Facts

  1. Kate, I am very happy reading your articles about of my country. Definitely Colombia and its people are beautiful :-)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s